Making friends at Fashion School

People always say that the friends you meet at University, is the friends you keep for life. This statement was a big debate in my life as I stressed about making friends from scratch in the first place (don’t we all?).

To make matters worse, I was born shy. This made my “first day syndrome” even worse. So, nervous and a bit excited I walked with “fake it ‘till you make it” confidence through the doors of LISOF. I scanned the room for a friendly face and soon realised that I wasn’t the only one shaking in my boots. It made me relax more and then, out of the blue, came a friendly hallo.

Photo credit: Aneli van der Merwe

Not before long, Miss Hallo and I talked like we had known each other for years. Sharing laughs, tears and fashion shows, we became close and in a matter of a few months, I found someone I could trust my life with.

The statement? Well, I discovered that it was false, because you see the truth is: I didn’t meet a friend for life, I found the sister I never had…

Photo credit: Aneli van der Merwe

Leave a Reply

