Song of the week

One of the sad and harsh realities we’ve discussed this week is how many girls are being abused in relationships. Unfortunately, they and even we don’t always realize it. The thing is MyBFF’s, abuse is not just about men hitting women. There are different forms and each one can be as life threatening as the next.

The one that most commonly occur  in young women’s lives are being insulted. I’ve had a few friends who’s boyfriends’ love to say mean things to them and insult them in a fight. Their boyfriends constantly tried to tear down their confidence so that they would think they don’t deserve better. Everyday I see more and more girls going through this just to keep their boyfriends happy.

If you feel guilty or even wonder about your relationship while you were reading this, the odds are that you’re in one of these relationships yourself. Well, MyBFF I am here to tell you that you deserve better! Believe me. You are a women with a heart full of love to give and girl you deserve exactly that and more in return. A man is suppose to keep you save and always make you feel secure. He is suppose to love you, care for you and brag about you at least once a day. And this man I’m talking about? He does exist! But you are not going to find him while being in a hurtful relationship.

The most important thing to realize is that your boyfriend will never change. Otherwise he would have already! It doesn’t make him a bad person, it just means you are not good for each other.  [If you are being abused in a bad way, call the Stop gender violence hotline on 0800-150-150 for help and guidance].

Therefore, my song of the week is “Face Down” by The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus. I am dedicating these words to every girl out there who ever got hurt by a man and didn’t feel that she was worth the value she really is.

Photo credit: shaneycajilig.tumblr.com

Face Down lyrics [Credit: elyrics.net]

Hey girl, you know, you drive me crazy
One look puts the rhythm in my hand
Still I’ll never understand why you hang around
I see what’s goin’ down

Cover up with make up in the mirror
Tell yourself it’s never gonna happen again
You cry alone and then he swears he loves you

Do you feel like a man, when you push her around?
Do you feel better now as she falls to the ground?
Well, I’ll tell you my friend, one day this world’s going to end
As your lies crumble down, a new life she has found

A pebble in the water makes a ripple effect
Every action in this world will bear a consequence
If you wade around forever you will surely drown
I see what’s going down

I see the way you go and say you’re right again
Say you’re right again, heed my lecture

Do you feel like a man, when you push her around?
Do you feel better now as she falls to the ground?
Well, I’ll tell you my friend, one day this world’s going to end
As your lies crumble down, a new life she has found

Face down in the dirt she said, This doesn’t hurt…
She said, I finally had enough!
Face down in the dirt she said, This doesn’t hurt?
She said, I finally had enough!

One day she will tell you that she has had enough
It’s coming round again

Do you feel like a man, when you push her around?
Do you feel better now as she falls to the ground?
Well, I’ll tell you my friend, one day this world’s going to end
As your lies crumble down, a new life she has found

Do you feel like a man, when you push her around?
Do you feel better now as she falls to the ground?
Well, I’ll tell you my friend, one day this world’s going to end
As your lies crumble down, a new life she has found

Face down in the dirt she says, This doesn’t hurt?
She says, I finally had enough!!!

* Listen to the song at http://www.redjumpsuit.com – go to the music block below after entering

Leave a Reply

